Breaking down the walls in Social Networking

By now, most of you have heard the buzz about Facebook, blogging, You Tube, Twitter and Active Rain.  I am always curious to hear from real estate agents and brokers whether they have seen any increase in business as a result of social networking.  Also, have you seen any increase in the amount of visitors to your Web site?

There are so many new ways to brand yourself and to engage in the social networking blitz.  I am finding that some agents and brokers that I speak to seem like they are overwhelmed and just do not know where to start or have time to really research and harness the power of these and other applications.

I have compiled a list of some common questions and concerns that I have received from agents over the last few months.  Do you recognize some of these or have similar issues?

Some of the questions and comments I receive about blogging:

  • How do I set up a blog?
  • What do I write about?
  • How often do I have to update my blog?
  • Is it OK to take content from another source and copy it to my blog?

Here are some of the Facebook comments and questions that I receive:

  • Do I make my profile about my business or should I make it personal?
  • Do I add other agents and brokers as friends?
  • Facebook is for kids and I do not see any value in it.
  • I am concerned about my privacy
  • I do not have time
  • I am bombarded with all the games and other applications on Facebook.
  • Will I develop new business relationships through Facebook?

Questions and comments about the overall effect on increasing visitors to my main Web site:

  • My Web site does not get traffic. Will my social networking presence increase the number of visitors to my site?
  • Will blogging and social networking help me rank better in search engines?
  • I have tried blogging and dabbled with Facebook and see no increase in business?
  • Are my time and efforts better focused on just buying Ad words in Google?
  • Should I hire one of those “Search Engine Optimization Companies” to enhance my rankings?

Many of your questions and comments about the social networking frenzy are valid concerns and comments.  I can tell you first hand, that practice makes perfect in the new world of social networking.  Yes, I have seen many real estate agents and brokers thrive with Facebook, Twitter, You Tube, and Active Rain!!! Oh YES, and even blogging. There can be many reasons why your efforts have not paid dividends.

My post is to open some dialogue with you to discuss some of these issues.  Feel free to comment and I will do my best to answer your questions and give you the best advice that has helped so many of our clients.

One thought on “Breaking down the walls in Social Networking

Leave a Reply

